Mobile Film Festival

1 MOBILE , 1 MINUTE , 1 FILM

MOBILE FILM FESTIVAL AFRICA

Discover the Awards!

Q&A

You might find the answer to your question below! If you still can’t find the answer you’re looking for, please contact our team.

Artistic aspects

What can I film with?

You can film with a mobile phone or a tablet. You can use accessories such as a microphone, stabiliser, filters, removable lenses, etc.

Can I use accessories?

Yes, you can use accessories such as microphones, stabilisers, filters, removable lenses, etc.

Duration

1 minute maximum, including credits.

Theme

For this 100% African edition, we invite you all – directors and filmmakers living in one of Africa’s 54 countries – to make your own film.

There are no topic restrictions.

Film genre

All audio-visual forms are accepted: fiction, documentary and all genres, too: romance, horror, science-fiction, western, drama, period, thriller, Z movie, comedy, action, war film, etc., as well as stop-motion, time lapse, etc.

Can I enter an animated film?

Films using motion-capture techniques and/or special effects added during editing are more than welcome, as long as the images themselves were filmed using a mobile/tablet device. Unfortunately, films comprising only graphic animations without any live action are not permitted.

Can several people be involved in making the film?

Yes. The entry form allows you to list all members of your team and their role on page 3, including any co-producers and directors.

Can I use pre-existing music?

Yes and no. If you want to use any music in your film, you must hold the appropriate rights or have been authorised to use it by the author or its rights holders. You will be required to prove this, where requested by our team. There is, however, lots of royalty-free music available for you to use. Please take a look at the YouTube audio library.

Can I enter more than one video into the competition?

Yes, you can enter as many films as you like, free of charge. However, only one film per director can be shortlisted for the competition. When registering more than one film, please use the same username, email address and password for each one.

Registering for the Mobile Film Festival

Is it possible to sign up anonymously?

We understand that the theme of the competition this year and the way in which it may be addressed in certain films could put directors in danger. Therefore, we’re giving you the option to create a pseudonym, which will be used if you’re officially selected. However, we do ask that you include your real identity on the registration form (first name, surname, address, email address and phone number); this information will remain entirely confidential and can only be seen by the Mobile Film Festival team.

Who can register and take part in the Mobile Film Festival Africa 2020?

Anyone living in one of Africa’s 54 countries can take part in MFF Africa 2020. The call for films for this year’s edition is not open to those who do not live on the African continent. Please note, addresses will be checked upon registration.

What kinds of video files do you accept?

MP4 and MOV files, 200MB max.

I can’t access page 2 of the form, what should I do?

Please use another email address and change your username. The issue could be related to your browser. Please try again using a different browser. If that still doesn’t work, please contact our team (info@mobilefilmfestival.com), attaching screenshots of the error messages you’re seeing.

I made a mistake when filling out the form (incorrect information, wrong video file, etc.), what should I do?

Don’t panic! Simply get in touch with our team (info@mobilefilmfestival.com) and tell them your full name, the title of your film, the email address you used when registering and the issue. Our team will get back to you as quickly as possible telling you what to do next.

I haven’t received confirmation of my entry.

You should receive an email after submitting the online form. This may take a few minutes. If you still haven’t received anything 24 hours after registering and have checked your junk folder, please contact our team: info@mobilefilmfestival.com . We will get back to you as quickly as possible.

Subtitling your film on Dotsub

Subtitles

Subtitling in the film’s original language is compulsory for any films that include dialogue, title cards, voiceover or any inscriptions necessary for understanding the story. Please note: do not embed any subtitles in your film! You should add them via our partner, Dotsub.com, when registering. We will create a free Dotsub account for you when you register your film. You will receive your login details automatically by email, allowing you to subtitle your film for free in just a few minutes using Dotsub. If you don’t subtitle your film on Dotsub, your registration cannot be approved by our team.

My film already has subtitles, what should I do?

We cannot accept any films with embedded subtitles. You must create or import any subtitles via our partner Dotsub.com. Once you have completed your registration form, you will receive your login details automatically by email, allowing you to subtitle your film for free in just a few minutes.

I already have a Dotsub account, can I use it to subtitle my film?

Yes. If you already have a Dotsub account, please let us know via the registration form (page 1), including the username, email address and password linked to your account. Your film will be automatically available on your Dotsub account within around 48 hours. You’ll receive an email when your film is available on Dotsub.

I have already participated in the Mobile Film Festival.

In this case, please use the same username and password you used in the year you entered. If you have forgotten your username or password, you can reset them here: https://dotsub.com/login

My short film doesn’t require subtitling (film without dialogue or voice-over, no dialogue cards, no credits, without any inscriptions necessary to properly understand the story), is my registration complete?

Yes. Once you have completed the entry form, you will receive an email confirming your registration or explaining how to add your subtitles on Dotsub, if your film needs to be subtitled.

I didn’t receive a confirmation email after creating my subtitles on Dotsub, is this normal?

You should receive a confirmation email as soon as your subtitles are approved by our team. Our team checks all subtitles manually, so there may be a short delay. If you still haven’t heard anything after 72 hours (don’t forget to check your junk mail!), please contact our team: info@mobilefilmfestival.com

Official selection

When will the selection be announced?

The official selection will be announced on our website on 17 March 2021.

How many films will be selected?

Around fifty films will be selected.

Where can the official selections be viewed?

Officially selected films can be viewed on our website, Facebook page, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube accounts from Wednesday, February 17th 2021, as well as on the big screen during the prize-giving ceremony, which will take place Thursday, March 25th 2021, in a major African capital city.

Awards

The Mobile Film Festival Africa Award

1 grant worth €10,000 will be awarded to the winner of the Grand Prize Africa. This grant is designed to finance the production of a short film using professional resources within a year. The money will be given to an approved producer, who will take financial responsibility and ensure the film is completed. The winner may suggest a producer they’d like to work with, in agreement with the organisers of the Mobile Film Festival. If the winner does not know any, we will put them in touch with producers in their country.

The TV5 Monde prize: for the French-speaking Film Award

1 prize of €2,500 will be awarded by TV5 Monde to the winner of the French-speaking Film Award. This grant is designed to finance the production of a short film using professional resources over the course of a year.

The SACEM prize: for the Original Music Score Award

1 prize of €2,500 will be awarded by SACEM to the winner of the Original Music Award. This prize must be used to create and produce a new musical work dedicated to the picture using professional resources over the course of a year.

The Yebo! prize: for the Documentary Film Award

1 prize of €2,000 will be awarded by Yebo! to the winner of the Documentary Film Award. This grant is designed to finance the production of a short film using professional resources over the course of a year.

The Tazama Festival prize: for the African Female Director Award

1 prize of €1,500 will be awarded by Tazama Festival to the winner of the African Female Director Award. This grant is designed to finance the production of a short film using professional resources over the course of a year.

Disclaimer

The official selection and awards do not imply endorsement by the partners

Make Mobile Film Festival happen in your country

Mobile Film Festival

1 MOBILE , 1 MINUTE , 1 FILM

APPEL À FILMS MFF AFRICA

Envoyez vos films avant le 7 juillet 2020

FAQ

La réponse à votre question se trouve peut-être ci-dessous ! Si votre question reste sans réponse, n’hésitez pas à contacter notre équipe.

Aspect artistique

Avec quoi puis-je filmer ?

Vous pouvez filmer avec un téléphone portable ou une tablette. Vous pouvez également utiliser des accessoires tels qu’un micro, un stabilisateur, des filtres, des objectifs amovibles, etc.

Puis-je utiliser des accessoires ?

Oui, vous pouvez utiliser des accessoires tels qu’un micro, un stabilisateur, des filtres, des objectifs amovibles, etc.

Durée

1 minute maximum, générique inclus.

Thème

A l’occasion de cette édition 100% africaine, nous vous invitons – réalisatrices et réalisateurs résidant dans l’un des 54 pays du continent africain – à réaliser un film.

Le thème est libre.

Genre cinématographique

Toutes les formes audiovisuelles sont acceptées : fiction, documentaire et bien entendu tous les genres : romantique, horreur, science-fiction, western, drame, film d’époque, anticipation, série Z, comédie, action, film de guerre… mais aussi stop-motion, time lapse…

Puis-je soumettre un film d'animation ?

Les films utilisant la technique du motion-capture et/ou des effets spéciaux ajoutés au montage sont les bienvenus dans la mesure où les images du film sont filmées avec un mobile/tablette. Les films comprenant uniquement des animations graphiques sans prise de vue réelles ne sont pas autorisés.

Peut-on réaliser un film à plusieurs ?

Oui. Le formulaire d’inscription vous permet de citer page 3 tous les membres de votre équipe ainsi que leur fonction, dont les éventuels co-réalisateurs.

Puis-je utiliser une musique existante ?

Oui et Non. Si vous souhaitez utiliser une musique dans votre film, il vous faut en être l’ayant droit ou avoir acquis l’autorisation d’usage auprès de l’auteur ou de ses ayants droit. Une preuve vous sera demandée par notre équipe. De nombreuses musiques sont par ailleurs libres de droit : n’hésitez pas à consulter la bibliothèque audio de YouTube.

Puis-je proposer plusieurs vidéos à la compétition ?

Oui, vous pouvez inscrire gratuitement autant de films que vous le souhaitez. Cependant, un seul film par réalisateur pourra être sélectionné en compétition. Lors de l’inscription de vos films, merci d’utiliser les mêmes pseudo, e-mail et mot de passe.

Inscription au Mobile Film Festival

Est-il possible de s’inscrire de manière anonyme ?

Nous sommes conscients que le thème et la manière dont il sera abordé dans certains films pourraient mettre en danger leur réalisateur. Nous vous donnons ainsi la possibilité d’indiquer un pseudonyme d’artiste qui sera utilisé en cas de sélection officielle. Nous vous demandons toutefois de bien vouloir indiquer votre identité civile dans le formulaire (nom, prénom, adresse postale, email, numéro de téléphone); ces données resteront confidentielles et à la seule connaissance de l’équipe du Mobile Film Festival.

Qui peut s'inscrire et participer à l'édition du Mobile Film Festival Africa 2020 ?

Toute personne résidant dans l’un des 54 pays d’Afrique peut participer au MFF Africa 2020. L’appel à films de cette édition n’est pas ouvert aux personnes qui ne résident pas sur le continent africain. Attention, un contrôle des adresses sera effectué lors de l’inscription.

Je n’arrive pas à accéder à la page 2 du formulaire, que faire ?

Merci de bien vouloir utiliser une autre adresse e-mail et modifier le pseudo. Le problème peut également venir de votre navigateur : n’hésitez pas à réessayer sur un autre navigateur. Si cela ne fonctionne toujours pas, contactez notre équipe (info@mobilefilmfestival.com) en joignant des captures d’écran des messages d’erreur.

J’ai fait une erreur en remplissant le formulaire (information erronée, mauvais fichier vidéo…), que dois-je faire ?

Pas d’inquiétude ! Informez-en notre équipe (info@mobilefilmfestival.com) en précisant votre nom, prénom, titre de votre film, e-mail utilisé lors de l’inscription et erreur constatée. Notre équipe reviendra vers vous dès que possible afin de vous indiquer la marche à suivre.

Je n'ai pas reçu de confirmation de mon inscription

Un email de confirmation doit vous parvenir après validation du formulaire en ligne. Cela peut prendre quelques minutes. Si vous n’avez toujours rien reçu 24h00 après votre inscription et après avoir vérifié vos spams, merci de contacter notre équipe (info@mobilefilmfestival.com). Nous vous répondrons dès que possible.

Sous-titrer son film sur Dotsub

Sous-titrage

Le sous-titrage est obligatoire dans la langue du film pour les films ayant des dialogues, un carton titre, une voix-off ou encore des inscriptions nécessaires à la compréhension de l’histoire. Attention : n’incrustez pas les sous-titres dans votre film ! Vous devrez les ajouter via notre partenaire Dotsub.com lors de votre inscription. Nous vous créons en effet un compte Dotsub gratuit lors de votre inscription. Vous recevrez automatiquement par e-mail des identifiants de connexion vous permettant de sous-titrer votre film gratuitement et en quelques minutes sur Dotsub. N’uploadez pas vous-même votre film sur Dotsub, auquel cas votre inscription ne pourra être validée par notre équipe.

Mon film est déjà sous-titré, que dois-je faire ?

Nous refusons les inscriptions des films ayant des sous-titres incrustés. Vous devrez réaliser ou importer les sous-titres via notre partenaire Dotsub.com : une fois le formulaire rempli, vous recevrez automatiquement par e-mail des identifiants de connexion vous permettant de sous-titrer votre film gratuitement et en quelques minutes.

J’ai déjà un compte Dotsub, est-ce que je peux l’utiliser pour sous-titrer mon film ?

Oui. Si vous avez déjà un compte Dotsub, merci de bien vouloir indiquer dans le formulaire d’inscription (page 1) le pseudo, l’e-mail et le mot de passe associé à votre compte. Votre film sera disponible automatiquement sur votre compte Dotsub dans un délai de 48h00 environ. Vous recevrez un e-mail lorsque votre film sera disponible sur Dotsub.

J'ai déjà participé au Mobile Film Festival

Dans ce cas, merci d’utiliser le même pseudo et mot de passe que l’année de votre participation. Si vous avez oublié votre mot de passe ou votre pseudo, vous pouvez le réinitialiser ici : https://dotsub.com/login

Mon court métrage ne nécessite pas de sous-titrage (film sans dialogues ni voix-off, sans carton, sans générique, sans inscriptions nécessaire à la bonne compréhension de l'histoire ), est-ce que mon inscription est complète ?

Oui. Une fois le formulaire d’inscription rempli, vous recevrez un email vous confirmant votre bonne inscription ou vous expliquant la marche à suivre concernant le sous-titrage sur Dotsub si votre film nécessite d’être sous-titré.

Je n'ai pas reçu d'email de confirmation après avoir réalisé les sous-titres sur Dotsub, est-ce normal ?

Vous recevrez un e-mail de confirmation dès validation de vos sous-titres par notre équipe. Notre équipe validant la conformité des sous-titres manuellement, cela peut prendre un peu de temps. Toutefois, si vous n’avez toujours rien reçu au bout de 72h00 (pensez à vérifier vos spams !), merci de nous contacter : info@mobilefilmfestival.com

Sélection officielle

Quand sera annoncée la sélection ?

La sélection officielle sera annoncée sur notre site Internet le jeudi 4 juin 2020.

Combien de films seront sélectionnés ?

Une cinquantaine de films seront sélectionnés.

Où pourra t-on visionner la sélection officielle ?

Les films de la sélection officielle seront visibles sur notre site Internet, page Facebook, comptes Twitter, Instagram et YouTube à partir du jeudi 4 juin 2020, ainsi que sur grand écran lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix qui aura lieu début juillet 2020 dans une grande capitale africaine.

Prix

La bourse du Mobile Film Festival Africa

1 bourse de 10 000€ sera remise au lauréat du Grand Prix Africa. Cette bourse est dédiée à la réalisation d’un court métrage avec des moyens professionnels en un an. L’argent sera remis à un producteur confirmé qui aura la responsabilité financière et de bonne fin du film. Le lauréat pourra choisir le producteur avec lequel ils souhaitent travailler, en accord avec les organisateurs du Mobile Film Festival. S’il n’en connaît pas, nous les mettrons en relation avec des producteurs de son pays.

La bourse de TV5 Monde : pour le Prix du Film Francophone

1 bourse de 2,500€ sera remise par TV5 Monde au lauréat du Prix du Film Francophone. Cette bourse sera dédiée à la réalisation d’un court métrage avec des moyens professionnels en un an.

La bourse de la SACEM : pour la Prix de la Musique Originale

1 bourse de 2,500€ sera remise par la SACEM au lauréat du Prix de la Musique Originale. Cette bourse sera dédiée à la création et la production d’une nouvelle oeuvre musicale dédiée à l’image avec des moyens professionnels en un an.

La bourse de Yebo! : pour le Prix du Film Documentaire

1 bourse de 2,000€ sera remise par Yebo! au lauréat du Prix du Film Documentaire. Cette bourse sera dédiée à la réalisation d’un court métrage avec des moyens professionnels en un an.

La bourse du Festival Tazama : pour le Prix de la Réalisatrice Africaine

1 bourse de 1,500€ sera remise par le Festival Tazama au lauréat du Prix de la Réalisatrice Africaine. Cette bourse sera dédiée à la réalisation d’un court métrage avec des moyens professionnels en un an.

Disclaimer

The official selection and awards do not imply endorsement by the partners

Make Mobile Film Festival happen in your country